Let’s talk about the weather, shall we?

I left work today at my normal time: 5:30pm. This is only interesting so far as it serves as a metric by which to gauge things like daylight and temperature. For that last few months, leaving work was a dark and cold affair, akin to the planet Pluto, or my parents marriage (just kidding mom and dad. Really! Don’t disown me). Recently, however, I’ve noticed a subtle difference in the world as I leave: it’s getting lighter. Really though, I don’t care that it’s light outside; I still have to wear a hoodie, a pea-coat, gloves and a beanie in order to feel warmth in my core and extremities.

Today I wore only a pea-coat. No hoodie. No gloves. No flippin’ beanie. I was righteously enthusiastic. My girlfriend was less so:

“It’s funny that your definition of warm is ‘only’ wearing a pea-coat,” she remarked.

This got me to thinking of the temperature variations we get in Seattle, which has lead me to create a temperature guideline that holistically covers all possible degrees of warmth/cold.

  • Don’t leave your house; you’ll freeze.
  • Hoodie + pea-coat + gloves + hat
  • Hoodie + pea-coat
  • Pea-coat
  • Hoodie
  • tee-shirt
  • Don’t leave your house; you’ll melt

By that scale, pea-coat only temperature is downright balmy! There’s only one step between my and just wearing a tee-shirt around.

yuk

Let’s talk about the weather, shall we?

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk about the weather, shall we?

Leave a Reply

