Microsoft’s loss is my gain

I am sad, of course, to hear about the demise of the Live Labs over at Microsoft. I enjoyed my time with the Seadragon team, and I extend my sympathies to all zui enthusiasts everywhere. The things created there, from Photosynth, to Zoom It, were fantastically well created, designed and dreamed.

I am of the opinion that more of these experimental-non-research-but-not-product groups need to exist, not fewer. It’s a great system for iterating and innovating on things that might see the light of day, instead of just the light of a bespectacled academic.

I am, however, totally stoked to be mentioned in the article.

If you re-read the article and still haven’t spotted it, don’t worry, it’s subtle:

yuk

Microsoft’s loss is my gain

Leave a Reply

